99 Problems, Being Rich Ain’t One

You know, I hate to admit it, but some days being a superhero really does feel like a thankless profession. I’m out there risking my life every day to help others, and not only do I not see a nickel of income, but half the time people are labeling me a “vigilante” and accusing me of having some kind of “hidden agenda.” And the aspersions aren’t the worst of it. As a modern, liberated woman, the fact that I’m completely and utterly dependent on my boyfriend for financial stability really sticks in my craw sometimes. (Did I really just stay “sticks in my craw”? Okay, forget the modern part) And I don’t feel like a kept woman by any means, it just made the most sense: Emmett is fortunate enough now to pull down enough money to support both of us, and I can do a lot more good devoting myself to superheroing full time. I know a lot of you fellow super types take pains to keep your identities a secret, which I can only assume means you’re somehow juggling crime fighting and a full-time day job. Honestly, I don’t know how you do it. But it’s inspiring. And, hell: maybe there’s a way to monetize this superhero thing while still not selling out. A girl can dream, can’t she?

Leave a Reply

